Skip to product information
1 of 7

Ernst Meister

Uncollected Later Poems (1968–1979)

Uncollected Later Poems (1968–1979)

        • In these skillful new translations by poet Graham Foust and scholar Samuel Frederick, whose work has previously been shortlisted for the National Translation Award in Poetry, each line is gnomic yet ample, opening spaces of reflection on mortality and infinity. Now preserved in this portable, English-language volume, these poems from Georg Büchner Prize winner Ernst Meister’s last decade are oracular and entrancing. While the collections previously published by Wave—Of Entirety Say the Sentence (2015), In Time’s Rift (2012), and Wallless Space (2014) —provide expansive access to Meister’s late work, Uncollected Later Poems (1968–1979) delivers granular, endlessly rewarding profundities.

        • Check back soon for more reviews!

        • Ernst Meister was born in Hagen, Germany in 1911. After the publication of his first book in 1932, he published no poetry for two decades, a silent spell that ultimately gave way to the prolific last third of his life, over the course of which he produced more than sixteen volumes of verse. In 1979, he was posthumously awarded the Georg Büchner Prize.

          Graham Foust is the author of several collections of poetry, including Nightingalelessness and Embarrassments. He teaches at the University of Denver.

          Samuel Frederick has published several books on German literature and film, most recently The Redemption of Things and The Last Laugh. He teaches at the Pennsylvania State University.

          Together they have translated four of Ernst Meister’s collections, including In Time’s Rift (2012), Wallless Space (2014), and Of Entirety Say the Sentence (2015). 

Publication: November 2023

ISBN# 9781950268894 (5.5 x 8, 64pp, paperback)

Regular price $16.00
Regular price $16.00 Sale price $16.00
Sale Add to cart
View full details