Skip to product information
1 of 10

Anselm Berrigan

Something for Everybody

Something for Everybody

By Anselm Berrigan

  • Anselm Berrigan’s eighth collection of poems, Something for Everybody, is exactly as its title describes. Wide-ranging in forms, densities, and aesthetics—and written from numerous collaborations, prompts, and influences—these poems express poetry’s astonishing possibilities. At the same time, they evince this singular poet’s consciousness in the here and now, as a family and community member looking at the seams of public life.

    **Bundle all the fall 2018 titles and get 40% off**

  • Throughout, Berrigan reframes and transforms unexamined routine into moments of energized space to promote fresh ways of engaging reality. That this is achieved without strain is a remarkable testament to Berrigan’s serious commitment to play as a compositional porthole through which the mundane becomes magic
    Tony Leuzzi, Brooklyn Rail

    As Berrigan puts the sense of magic spell back into the word charm, I sense somewhat of a post-punk ethos, as well as the Shakespearean Foole at his most linguistically complex.
    Chris Stroffolino, Boog City

    Whether he’s riffing like a jazz musician or clipping like a radio scanning through channels, Berrigan sets a surreal mood appropriate for increasingly apocalyptic and hallucinatory times. . . . Berrigan is always up for an experiment, and his clever and deeply human work soothes as a balm against the irritations of daily life.
    Publishers Weekly

  • Anselm Berrigan is the author of many books of poetry: Pregrets, (Black
    Square Editions, 2021), Something for Everybody, (Wave Books, 2018), Come In Alone (Wave Books, May 2016), Primitive State (Edge, 2015), Notes from Irrelevance (Wave Books, 2011), Free Cell (City Lights Books, 2009), Some Notes on My Programming (Edge, 2006), Zero Star Hotel (Edge, 2002), and Integrity and Dramatic Life (Edge, 1999). He is also the editor of What is Poetry? (Just Kidding, I Know You Know): Interviews from the Poetry Project Newsletter (1983–2009) and co-author of two collaborative books: Loading, with visual artist Jonathan Allen (Brooklyn Arts Press, 2013), and Skasers, with poet John Coletti (Flowers & Cream, 2012). He was the poetry editor for The Brooklyn Rail from 2008 through 2023. With Alice Notley and Edmund Berrigan he co-edited The Collected Poems of Ted Berrigan (U. California, 2005) and the Selected Poems of Ted Berrigan (U. California, 2011). More recently, he co-edited Get The Money! Collected Prose of Ted Berrigan (City Lights, 2022) with Notley, Edmund Berrigan, and Nick Sturm. A member of the subpress publishing collective, he has published books by Hoa Nguyen, Steve Carey, Adam DeGraff, and Brendan Lorber.  From 2003-2007 he was Artistic Director of The Poetry Project at St. Mark’s Church, where he also hosted the Wednesday Night Reading Series for four years. He teaches writing classes at Pratt Institute and Brooklyn College, and was a longtime Co-Chair in Writing at the Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts interdisciplinary MFA program. Berrigan was granted an Individual Artists Award from the Foundation of Contemporary Arts in 2017, and was also awarded a 2015 Process Space Residency by the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, and a Robert Rauschenberg Residency by the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation in 2014. He was a New York State Foundation for the Arts fellow in Poetry for 2007, and has received three grants from the Fund for Poetry.

Publication Date: October 9, 2018

ISBN# 9781940696799; (8 X 10, 128pp, trade paper)
ISBN# 9781940696782; (8 X 10, 128pp, limited edition hardcover)

Regular price $18.00
Regular price Sale price $18.00
Sale Add to cart
View full details